Centre Iannis Xenakis

Recherche utilisant ce type de requête :



Recherche seulement sur ces types d'enregistrements :

Contenu
Fichier
Collection
exposition
Page de l'exposition
Simple Page

Recherche avancée (contenus seulement)

Accueil > Activités du Centre > Expositions > Expositions : Iannis Xenakis et l'UPIC

Exhibitions: Iannis Xenakis and the UPIC

expo 1

 expo 2

In 2012, an interactive traveling exhibition, published by the Centre Iannis Xenakis, saw the day. Available in both French and English, it presents the tool to aid musical composition through drawing (called UPIC), created by the composer and architect Iannis Xenakis beginning in the 1950s.

It traces the history of the UPIC, based on documents from the archives of the Centre Iannis Xenakis: correspondence, concert posters, photographs, video testimonials highlighting experiences by composers, or the various UPIC workshops conducted with children or the blind.

After learning about the biography of Iannis Xenakis, the visitor is invited to consult three illustrated panels retracing the major phases of development of the tool. Then, an interactive timeline place the evolution of the UPIC in the context of key dates in the history of electroacoustic music. Furthermore, focus is given to the first work composed by Iannis Xenakis on the UPIC: to discover Mycenae Alpha, the visitor may consult a video listening station (testimony by Iannis Xenakis himself and a video of the graphic score of the work), as well as the facsimile of the composer’s original sketches score on a dedicated panel. Finally, the visitor’s experience is complemented by a second video listening station (including composers’ testimonies and a documentary film) and the many QR codes linking to multimedia content (digital online archive, musical pieces composed on the UPIC, videos) extend the exhibition’s experience beyond the display.

In addition, a web-based virtual exhibition was editorialized to prolong the experience and thus creating a link with the Digital Collections catalog of the Center Iannis Xenakis.

Example of the exhibition in Athens for the 35th CRMC Festival (2014):

 

 

This exhibition has already been programmed as part of several visual arts events in France and abroad:

- From March 17, 2012 to January 6, 2013: Invitation by the ZKM (Zentrum for Art and Media) in Karlsruhe, Germany to participate in the major exhibition "Sound Art - Sound as an art medium" with presentation of an original UPIC amidst other elements from our archives. In addition, three UPIC and Xenakis concerts co-produced by the CIX (Daniel Teige, founding member of CIX and Rodolphe Bourotte), UPIC workshops for children and adults (Rodolphe Bourotte) and participation in the conference "Limit Experiences and Electronic Music in the Context of Iannis Xenakis' (lectures by Sharon Kanach, Rodolphe Bourotte and Daniel Teige) were held there. [http://on1.zkm.de/zkm/stories/storyReader$7919]

- From January 17 to March 4, 2013, a version of the ZKM exhibition on the UPIC was hosted at the School of Fine Arts in Rouen (ESADHAR), also featuring concerts, workshops and conferences.[http://www.esadhar.fr/lh/?p=5194]

From 1 February to 31 March 2015: Hanging of the English version on display in Athens for the 35th CRMC Festival, organized by Space Under and the KSYME Center.[https://cmrc35years.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/exhibition-iannis-xenakiss-upic/]

 

 expo5

Details of the exhibition’s elements

- 1 title panel "Iannis Xenakis and the UPIC" (60 x 125 cm)

- One panel devoted to Iannis Xenakis’s biographical elements (60 x 125 cm)

- 3 panels on the history of the UPIC (from the CEMAMu to the Ateliers UPIC to the CCMIX to the CIX) (3 panels, 80 x 178 cm each)

- The list of composers who worked on the UPIC (circa 130 names) (1 panel 60 x 125 cm).

- A chronology consisting of 7 interactive panels (125 cm x 178 cm) (with QR codes for reading by smartphones) with the history of the UPIC in light of significant events in the history of electroacoustic music at large.

- 10 sketches of Iannis Xenakis’s Mycenae Alpha (1 panel 153 x 178 cm) + 1 panel of the final score (1 panel 80.5 x 64 cm)

- A video terminal for film on the UPIC and Mycenae Alpha by Iannis Xenakis

- A second video terminal with Chris Marker’s film on Iannis Xenakis and UPIC ["The Owl’s Legacy" (1989)]

Overall size

Panels (cm):

60 x 125 = 2

125 x 178 = 7

153 x 178 = 1

80.5 x 64 =1

80 x 178 = 3

60 x 125 = 1

2 video terminals

15 linear meters minimum.

 

The CIX provides the panels coated canvas, tension rods panels and digital video files. Host must provide 30 S hooks for hanging the panels.

For more details or if you wish to book the show for your event, please contact us via the "Contact" section of the website.

Centre Iannis Xenakis

Recherche utilisant ce type de requête :



Recherche seulement sur ces types d'enregistrements :

Contenu
Fichier
Collection
Exposition
Page de l'exposition
Simple Page

Recherche avancée (contenus seulement)

Accueil > Activités du Centre > Expositions > Expositions : Iannis Xenakis et l'UPIC

Expositions : Iannis Xenakis et l'UPIC

expo 1

 expo 2

Depuis 2012, une exposition interactive et itinérante, éditée par le Centre Iannis Xenakis, a vue le jour. Disponible en français et en anglais, elle à pour but de présenter l’outil d’aide à la composition musicale par le dessin (nommé UPIC), créé par le compositeur et architecte Iannis Xenakis à partir des années 1950.

Ce parcours permet de retracer l’histoire de l’UPIC en s’appuyant sur des documents issus des archives du Centre Iannis Xenakis : correspondance, affiches de concert, photographies, témoignages vidéos mettent en lumière les expériences de compositeurs, ou encore les multiples ateliers pédagogiques menés avec des enfants ou encore des non-voyants autour de l’UPIC.

Après avoir parcouru des éléments de biographie concernant Iannis Xenakis, le visiteur est invité à consulter trois panneaux illustrés reprenant les grandes phases de développement de l’outil. Puis, une chronologie interactive met en regard l’évolution de l’UPIC avec les dates marquantes de l’histoire de la musique électroacoustique. En outre,  un focus s’opère autour de la première œuvre composée par Iannis Xenakis sur l’UPIC : pour découvrir Mycènes Alpha, le visiteur dispose d’une station d’écoute vidéo (témoignage de Iannis Xenakis et diffusion vidéo de la partition graphique de l’œuvre), mais aussi de la mise en situation des fac simile de la partition originale sur un panneau dédié. Enfin, l’expérience est complétée par une seconde borne de visionnage vidéo (compilation de témoignages de compositeurs et d’un film documentaire) et les nombreux QR codes renvoyant vers des contenus multimédias (archives numériques en ligne, pièces musicales composées sur l’UPIC, vidéos) qui permettent de prolonger le parcours hors les murs. 

En outre, une éditorialisation web de l'exposition a été réalisé pour prolonger l'expérience et faire le lien avec le catalogue des collections numérisées du Centre Iannis Xenakis.

Exemple d'accrochage à Athènes pour le 35th CRMC Festival (2014) :

 

 

Cette exposition a déjà été programmée dans plusieurs manifestations d’arts visuels, en France et à l’étranger : 

- du 17 Mars 2012 au 6 Janvier 2013 : Invitation par le ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie) à Karlsruhe, Allemagne pour participer à la grande exposition "Sound Art - Sound as a Medium Art" avec présentation de l’UPIC historique et d’autres éléments de nos archives. De plus : trois concerts UPIC et Xenakis coproduits par le CIX (Daniel Teige, membre fondateur du CIX et Rodolphe Bourotte), des ateliers UPIC pour enfants et adultes (Rodolphe Bourotte) et participation au colloque « Limit Experiences et Electronic Music in the Context of Iannis Xenakis » (conférences par Sharon Kanach, Rodolphe Bourotte et Daniel Teige). [http://on1.zkm.de/zkm/stories/storyReader$7919]

- du 17 Janvier au 4 Mars, 2013 reprise de cette Exposition UPIC par l’ESADHAR à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Rouen, également accompagnée de concerts, ateliers et conférences. [http://www.esadhar.fr/lh/?p=5194]

- Du 1 février au 31 mars 2015 : Accrochage de l'exposition en version anglaise à Athènes pour le 35th CRMC Festival, organisé par le centre KSYME et Under Space [https://cmrc35years.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/exhibition-iannis-xenakiss-upic/]

 expo5

Détail des éléments de l’exposition

- 1 panneau titre « Iannis Xenakis et l'UPIC" (60 x 125 cm)

- 1 panneau consacré à des éléments de biographie de Iannis Xenakis (60 x 125 cm)

- 3 panneaux sur l'historique de l'UPIC (du CEMAMu aux Ateliers UPIC au CCMIX au CIX) (3 panneaux de 80 x 178 cm)

- La liste des compositeurs ayant travaillé sur l'UPIC (circa 130 noms) (1 panneau de 60 x 125 cm).

- Une chronologie constituée de 7 panneaux (125 cm x 178 cm) interactifs (avec QR codes pour lecture par smartphones) présentant l'histoire de l'UPIC en regard des évènements marquants de l'histoire de la musique électroacoustique. 

- 10 esquisses de Iannis Xenakis de Mycènes Alpha (sur 1 panneau 153 x 178 cm) + 1 panneau de la partition définitive (sur 1 panneau 80,5 x 64 cm)

- Une borne video sur l'UPIC et Mycènes Alpha de Iannis Xenakis

- Une deuxième borne video avec film de Chris Marker sur Iannis Xenakis et l’UPIC [« L’Héritage de la Chouette » (1989)]

Encombrement total 

Panneaux  (en cm), prévoir 30 crochets S :

60 x 125 = 2

125 x 178 = 7

153 x 178 = 1

80,5  64 = 1

80 x 178 = 3

60 x 125 = 1

2 bornes vidéos

15 mètres linéaires minimum.

Le CIX fournit les panneaux en toile enduite, les barres de tensions des panneaux et les fichiers vidéos numériques.

Pour plus de détails ou si vous souhaitez réserver l’exposition pour votre manifestation, veuillez nous contacter par la rubrique « Contact » du site internet.